MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here

Polish 1920 Commemorative award for American Volunteers.

Article about: Can anyone tell me if this is an authentic 2nd Republic 1920 Commemorative award for American Volunteers in General Haller's Blue Army in WW1 and the Polish Soviet War. What would be a reaso

Question Polish 1920 Commemorative award for American Volunteers.

Can anyone tell me if this is an authentic 2nd Republic 1920 Commemorative award for American Volunteers in General Haller's Blue Army in WW1 and the Polish Soviet War. What would be a reasonable price to pay for such an award. The back is complete flat with no makers mark. Is the ribbon correct for this award. Please excuse the obfuscation of the text. Thank you.

Default Re: Polish 1920 Commemorative award for American Volunteers.

I'm no expert y far, but it is the first medal like that I have seen, sorry I'm no help, it is interesting

Hi Dastier,

It's a copy. Posted below is a genuine cross on correct ribbon. Marked on reverse "W&HCO" (Whitehead & Hoag Co., Newark, N.J.). This particular cross sold in Poland back in late 2009 for the equivalent of about US$900.

Regards,
    Tony
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Polish 1920 Commemorative award for American Volunteers.   Polish 1920 Commemorative award for American Volunteers.  

All thoughts and opinions expressed are those of my own and should not be mistaken for medical and/or legal advice.

"Tomorrow hopes we have learned something from yesterday." - John Wayne

Tony, could the copy be the earlier first issue made upon the request of Marshall Pilsudski in the 1920? Thx.

Hi Dastier,