Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 32 of 48 FirstFirst ... 22 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 42 ... LastLast

Pre-war Badge thread

Article about: by rsunday Hello, Maybe it's Latvian? Rafal Yes, it might be...

?

Quote by rsunday View Post
    Hello,
    Maybe it's Latvian?
    Rafal
    Yes, it might be...

Marcin Janiszewski
    ?

Hello Andy
    This is the badge of the Corps of Cadets No. 2 of Modlin. Number 21 is the year - then came this badge (year of manufacture). Earlier in the Corps was different badge. I am an instructor scout - just getting ready museum in Modlin. Perhaps you would be interested in transferring, selling badges and sunshine. We are also looking other memorabilia. Please contact

I came across this super photo and felt it worthwhile to post it here. It was taken some time from 1933 to 1935 at Modlin during a ceremony where the “Znak Pancerny” armoured corps badges were being awarded.

(click on photo to enlarge)
    Pre-war Badge thread

A little bit about the badge:

Initially approved on November 3, 1932. Standard measurements 40 x 35 mm. Silver badges were produced by Gontarczyk for issue to officers. These were serial numbered, with both stamped and manually engraved numbers. NCO’s and enlisted ranks badges were issued with badges made of silvered tombac, produced by Stanisław Reising.

The badge was to be worn on the left breast, 1 cm above the first uniform button. The use of this badge was carried on by the Polish Armed Forces in the West.

Here’s an example from my collection. It has what appears to be a period conversion to pinback, likely for ease of transfer between uniforms. My apologies if I’ve posted this badge previously.

Pre-war Badge thread

Pre-war Badge thread

Regards,
    Tony
    All thoughts and opinions expressed are those of my own and should not be mistaken for medical and/or legal advice.

"Tomorrow hopes we have learned something from yesterday." - John Wayne