Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here

Advice needed - 1st Armoured Div BD

Article about: Hello everyone, lovely forum you have here! I need some advice regarding the Polish Army in Exile Battledress. I have received an original 1940 pattern battledress blouse from a friend who n

?

Default Advice needed - 1st Armoured Div BD

Hello everyone, lovely forum you have here!

I need some advice regarding the Polish Army in Exile Battledress. I have received an original 1940 pattern battledress blouse from a friend who no-longer wants it. As such I am going to turn it into a BD as used by a lieutenant of the 9th Infantry Battallion, 3 Infantry Brigade, 1st Polish Armoured Division.

Unfortunately i'm a total novice at this, but want to do a proper job of it. As such, can anyone answer these questions please?

1. The left shoulder board - was it dark blue or black? Was it simply covered with fabric or was the British serge one removed and replaced with the coloured one in its entirity?

2. What would the rank of a lieutenant have looked like? Would it also have been replicated anywhere else? (Like on the beret).

3. The breast pocket badge - were they worn on the BD at the time the unit was involved in the fighting at Falaise? If so, where can I get one in the UK? (preferably a reproduction as I don't fancy paying the £100 for an original!)

4. From my research at the moment, I have determined that the 9th Battallion did not wear anything other than the 'Poland' title on the right sleeve. Am I correct in this?

5. Did the infantry battallions in the 1st AD also wear the black beret as standard head-dress?

I really do apologise for the silly questions but I am not willing to get this wrong if I can help it!

Cheers all.

P.

Default re: Advice needed - 1st Armoured Div BD

Hello P,