Become our sponsor and display your banner here

Battlefield Dug M42

Article about: Hi, I am new to the forum and I recently purchased a German WW2 helmet. This is the first one I have bought and I have no experience with them prior to this. I think I know what it is for th

Question Battlefield Dug M42

Hi, I am new to the forum and I recently purchased a German WW2 helmet. This is the first one I have bought and I have no experience with them prior to this. I think I know what it is for the most part, but wanted some further insight.

Description: It is quite rusty, though I believe it is mostly surface rust. The right side is bent/dented where the edge starts to curve out, the lip on the front is curled upwards, the left side has a crack, and the top is messed up. It appears to have had a large hole in the top, and as it sat in the ground it may have rusted and became larger. There are two noticeable dents that I believe are battle damage of some sort. The top is dented, cracked, and somewhat caved in. The metal around the holes and edges is darker, like it is wet. However, it is not wet and I don't know why it is like this.
    As for decals and paint, I cannot see either of them. There looks to be some sort of greenish colored areas that are smooth on the inside of the helmet. I don't know if this is a trace of the original color, or just from being buried. Also, where are the factory markings located? I have searched and cannot find any, although they may be rusted away by now.