Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Rusty the German DD relic project

Article about: Hi people, Been collecting "mint" helmets for a while, but for a display setup I have in mind, I got myself a German relic I'm fairly new in the relic restauration business and bee

Default Rusty the German DD relic project

Hi people,

Been collecting "mint" helmets for a while, but for a display setup I have in mind, I got myself a German relic
    I'm fairly new in the relic restauration business and been doing quite some reading here and there on different procedures to get rusty lids in a more good-looking and stable state.
    Electrolysis, oxalic acid, etc...

But what often is missing is the preparation, how much of the "rust" is removed before and how, what about the decal remains on my new acquired German friend, do these need treatment prior to the oxalic bath?

Thanks for sharing secrets.

/Peter

Rusty the German DD relic project Rusty the German DD relic project

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Rusty the German DD relic project
    P
    Many

Hey BlackBox very cool pickup! Keep us updated I’m very interested to see how this turns out.

Quote by Giants77 View Post
    Hey BlackBox very cool pickup! Keep us updated I’m very interested to see how this turns out.
    Me too :-)
    As it'll be the first one. Fingers crossed.

As strange a method as it may sound, I use teabags to preserve rusty relics like this one.

Take a large container and fill it with warm water, enough so that you can fully submerge the item. Before dropping the helmet in, dump in a full pack of teabags and give it a stir. Once it's brewed, immerse the lid and leave it in there for a few hours. How long you want to leave it in there is up to you, but on the couple of occasions that I've used this method, I left the helmet to sit for a good six hours at least.