Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

k-98 restoration. removing bad plating

Article about: Do you need any more sons? I came into this thread late but can only echo what others have said. Very nice job. Thanks for posting, Andrew.

?

Default k-98 restoration. removing bad plating

Hello Gent's,
    some will cringe, some will cheer, but i'm tired of looking at my 98 as it was. some one had plated this nice k-98 in zink plate. for years i was told it had to be nickle or crome, they did not plate guns in zink. well i believe they were wrong, because of how it was turning a dull white color in places. so i decided ( finally after about 15 years) to see what it would take to restore this rifle to some sence of its former self. i have no illusion of perfection because i'm doing this all at home on a budget. and i have never done it before. lol i picked a hell of a project. i'll take some pictures as i go. i hope you like the idea and the progress.