Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here

M1C Restoration

Article about: Hi All! Just finished the repaint & texture on my M1C and thought I would share with you all! The shell is an original front seam swivel bail manufactured by Schlueter. I originally boug

?

Default M1C Restoration

Hi All! Just finished the repaint & texture on my M1C and thought I would share with you all! The shell is an original front seam swivel bail manufactured by Schlueter. I originally bought this restored helmet and jump liner from J Murray inc. 1944 about 4 years ago. Long story short the shell needed redoing so this is my first attempt at doing the paint texture on an M1. Think it turned out very well only thing that bugs me is the OD paint dried semi matt were originals were very flat matt but sure I will get over it! Basically I sanded the shell making sure it was smooth then started by spraying the paint on heavily and sprinkling cork texture direct to the wet paint. Then repeated the process about 3 times. Then after the final coat and a heavy sprinkling of cork I left the helmet to dry thoroughly. Then I knocked off all the excess cork which leaves a textured look very similar to originals! A few more coats of paint and all done! Hope you like! The pics are in order of process. Cheers! Sean. M1C RestorationM1C RestorationM1C RestorationM1C RestorationM1C RestorationM1C RestorationM1C RestorationM1C RestorationM1C Restoration

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement M1C Restoration
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: M1C Restoration

Nice one mate! If you can, get some flat clear spray from a model shop and hit it with a few coats and you'll get that Matt finish

?