Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Is this a good? real? SA Dienstdolch

Article about: Hi everyone, Im a new collector and am looking to purchase a SA Dagger and i have found this one, the bottom crossguard looks a bit dodgy? But as i said im a novice so your help would be muc

?

Quote by AussieNewbie View Post
    Hey Darren,

I havent imported from overseas yet, i got an SA dagger sent from WA to VIC after jumping through a few hoops to get a permit to own a Dagger,
    as i understand it mate you dont need a permit for bayonets in melbourne as long as the blade doesnt go all the way down to the handle.
    I was a bit sus about JB military antiques in Perth, so before i made the purchase i posted it here to confirm its authenticity.
    I have recived my SA Dagger and am very happy with it.
    Hope it helps mate, keep me in the loop if you import any edged weapons.
    As far as i know mate the only place you need a permit for edged weapons is Victoria, (the nanny state).

Thanks mate.
    Hey AussieNewbie,

I've been tempted to buy a couple of things from JB Military Antiques as well (there's an NCO sabre that I quite like the look of). They seem to have an ok reputation from what I've read.

Funnily enough, there's currently an SA Dagger on Gumtree (at Narre Warren) that I've requested photos of, but haven't heard back from the seller yet. The photos on Gumtree show it in a glass/perspex case, so there's a bit of reflection. Not sure what condition it's in, but it has a price of $500 (I'm in Brisbane so can't inspect it).

That's interesting about the Victorian laws and edged weapons. Queensland has some weird legislation as well, and it's sometimes difficult to find definitive answers (dead links on Gov websites, contradicting information etc).

I've bought some Dress Bayonets and bayonets online (within Australia) and haven't been pulled up yet, but I'm pretty sure they are allowed in QLD.