Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here

Detecting in Poland

Article about: Greetings all, I have some family that I occasionally visit about 40km outside of Warsaw. They live by a public forest in which there was a lot of activity during ww2. During the summer, we

polska
    ?

Default Detecting in Poland

Greetings all,

I have some family that I occasionally visit about 40km outside of Warsaw. They live by a public forest in which there was a lot of activity during ww2. During the summer, we hunt for mushrooms. I know there are plenty of items to be found here because I still see numerous areas where there were trenches. I have even spotted rusted grenades on the forest floor from time to time.

As a beginner I have several questions:

1. What are the laws for detecting and digging in Poland? I did not see any listing of laws relating to Poland in the pinned thread above.
    2. I am particularly interested in items such as firearms, bayonetts, knives, daggers, coins, medals, etc. Anything except explosives. Are there particular methods and detectors to be used to avoid digging up explosives?
    3. Anybody here from Poland?

Best,
    Artur

Default Re: Detecting in Poland

Hey Artur,
    diggin-up explosives comes with the territory of battlefield diggin.
    Always be carefull when diggin on a battlefield, UXO's, mines, grenades, cartridges are one of the most common things to find, you can't avoid them, but if you find any, notifying the relevant authority is the best thing to do.
    Thats what makes every little personal item so prescious to us diggers, because they are a lot more scares than the rest.
    There are a lot of good detectors and brands around, you will have to shop around.
    Don't go and spend a 1000 euro's on a detector if you are a novice, you can find a good one for around 200 to 400 euro's.
    For the law part there are some people here who might know what you're looking for.
    Regards,
    Steven

?