Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)

Article about: I bought this Helmet cover, and wanted to know if its old or correct for the period(ww1)? Any help would be great.

Default M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)

I bought this Helmet cover, and wanted to know if its old or correct for the period(ww1)? Any help would be great. M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)

- - ------- - -

Sorry about the pictures being upside down, I dont know how that happend.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement M16 Burlap Cover(hessian)
    P
    Many

I’m no expert on these but IMO it has some red flags, there’s a lot of very clean spots on it for being over 100 years old aswell as some areas looking very dirty. It looks like there is almost no wear around the rim edges where I would think there should be, but maybe this was a unissued one? Wait for others to chime in.

I am afraid it's a replica. I just saw one original in my life in a museum in Ieper.

Cheers Paul

Quote by Irish1965 View Post
    I am afraid it's a replica. I just saw one original in my life in a museum in Ieper.

Cheers Paul
    My feelings exactly, the staining of the hessian looks contrived, and the holes are not at all convincing... and how odd there is no wear to the hessian around the edge of the helmet. If you purchased this in the belief it is genuine, then I would try and return it to the seller and ask for a refund.

Cheers,
    Steve

I figured it was not genuine, it looked like it had some age, plus I thought it would look cool as a display. I did not pay much for it, so no harm done really.

If you did not pay much for it, then that was your answer to its authenticity.