Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Wehrmacht M40 helmet - unfamiliar Decal

Article about: Good afternoon, I recently purchased this helmet. I am a complete beginner at collecting WW2 items but have always found it interesting. I believe this is a Wehrmacht M40 helmet but would li

Default Wehrmacht M40 helmet - unfamiliar Decal

Good afternoon,

I recently purchased this helmet. I am a complete beginner at collecting WW2 items but have always found it interesting.

I believe this is a Wehrmacht M40 helmet but would like some advice off the experts on here please if at all possible. I haven't yet been able to find the same decal on pictures that I've been looking up. Any info please? If you look at the front facing photo - you can just make out a Swastika that used to be there - either worn or scratched off.

Thank you.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Wehrmacht M40 helmet - unfamiliar Decal
    P
    Many

Thats a M42 helmet not a M40 as you can see by the rolled edge. The decal looks hand painted? I've never seen a full hand painted decal before and you would think if it was a German soldier painting it he would atleast make the bird face the right way! I presume maybe some sort of post war painted decal on a M42. The chinstrap also looks different?

Thank you for your reply - this is what confused me, the eagle facing the wrong way. I purchased it off a man that claims it was his father's who retrieved it from a German solider on D Day in Normandy. I know that sounds somewhat outlandish but I have no reason to distrust his explanation. Perhaps his father painted it on after.

After you've mentioned it perhaps being painted - i've just zoomed in on the decal and it does appear that the lines making the V shape seems to have been drawn on for sure.