Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Soldbuch to soldiers missing in action

Article about: Hi, This may be a silly question and please be patient as I'm new to this but while looking through various sellers websites I have come across soldbuchs to soldiers missing in action and wh

?

Default Soldbuch to soldiers missing in action

Hi,

This may be a silly question and please be patient as I'm new to this but while looking through various sellers websites I have come across soldbuchs to soldiers missing in action and where no body has been recovered. So how can the soldbuch still exist, wouldn't it remain with the body?

Regards,

Russ

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Soldbuch to soldiers missing in action
    P
    Many

I should imagine the soldbuch was recovered by comrades and then the position of the body lost. Soldiers were often buried on or near battlefields and their locations are now not known.

Also lost or dropped on the ground ...anything could of happened at any given time in battle or just walking.

its as easy as losing a few dollars in your pocket.
    It is not the size of a Collection in History that matters......Its the size of your Passion for it!! - Larry C

One never knows what tree roots push to the surface of what laid buried before the tree was planted - Larry C

“The farther back you can look, the farther forward you are likely to see.” - Winston Churchill

Quote by douglas2496 View Post
    I should imagine the soldbuch was recovered by comrades and then the position of the body lost. Soldiers were often buried on or near battlefields and their locations are now not known.
    But in such cases, they would still be recorded as KIA rather than MIA.

A more plausible scenario is that the Soldbuch was taken off a dead body not by his comrades but by an enemy soldier as a souvenir without the deceased's own forces ever learning about his fate, thus recording him as MIA.