Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Röhm SS - real or fake SS Dagger?

Article about: Hi from Russia! We had contact with you years ago. I hope you remember that. I have a question for you. I see this SS dagger. The seller says it 's a completely original dagger. We have a di

Default Röhm SS - real or fake SS Dagger?

Hi from Russia!
    We had contact with you years ago. I hope you remember that.
    I have a question for you.
    I see this SS dagger. The seller says it 's a completely original dagger. We have a discussion here regarding this. There are two opinions - original and forgery. If you can say your opinion regarding this dagger - it will be a very big help for us.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Röhm SS - real or fake SS Dagger?
    P
    Many

Hello Vlad! I'm pretty new to this game BUT I have a Gottlieb Hammesfahr ground Röhm. So , I pulled it out and compared "your" dagger to mine. I think "yours" give a quite good impression, but I am trying to understand what is going on with your crossguards? It looks like they are deteriorating in some way on the upward facing part of the lower ones and lower facing parts of the upper ones. Look at the picture of the crossguards taken apart. Now, if these were the correct material for this early dagger they should be nickel-silver and those should not deteriorate. If they are plated and what we see is some sort of lifting, then that's a problem for authenticity.

When it comes to the blade, I think the makers mark and motto looks ok, and since it is a ground Röhm you could try and look for small remnants of the original inscription on the blade for verification of authenticity. But, on the other hand, if you can't find any that doesn't mean, per se, that the blade is bad, it might just be that the grinding guy did a good job. I have two dots of my inscription left on my blade.