Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Decal on the wrong side?

Article about: First, let me say I have no knowledge at all about German helmets or their decals. I came across this photo and first assumed it was simply mirrored, till I noticed that the sleeve eagle act

Looks to be a correct Pocher decal from what I can see....so probably a double rune

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Decal on the wrong side?
    P
    Many

Quote by FALLSCHIRMJAGER View Post
    My thoughts exactly Steve, there are many known examples of reverse HEER decals used for film and photographs by the Reich's propaganda unit so why not an SS helmet as this is clearly a staged/posed image. Leon.
    I think this is a very plausible explanation too. Thanks all for your input!

From a photographic point of view it would make sense to take the picture from the left side of the soldier - although the SS runes would obviously need to be added to that side of the helmet. In that one shot the photographer has captured the very recognisable emblems of an elite fighting force - don't forget that the arm eagle is also visible by taking the picture from the left side!

Decal on the wrong side?

Not a decal I think, but still painted on the 'wrong' side on this M16 helmet.

These are sometimes seen this way in period film footage & photos. Nothing out of the ordinary here

Quote by real steel View Post
    These are sometimes seen this way in period film footage & photos. Nothing out of the ordinary here
    Still interesting though. I doubt there are many surviving examples with runes like these.

Default painted runes

Here is one on Kelly's site. Original ??...why not ?

Though it is not backwards....still it is painted on
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Decal on the wrong side?   Decal on the wrong side?  

Decal on the wrong side?  

Quote by earlymb View Post