Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

SS Helmet Chinstraps

Article about: Hi Everyone, I am a beginner collector and have two simple questions. Did SS late war helmets(1942 and on) get issued with standard(Army) chinstraps with the usual markings or SchutzStaffel

Default SS Helmet Chinstraps

Hi Everyone,
    I am a beginner collector and have two simple questions. Did SS late war helmets(1942 and on) get issued with standard(Army) chinstraps with the usual markings or SchutzStaffel chinstraps with SS/RZM markings? I think I know the answer but have not been able to find much information online. Also, is there a website with a list of known WW2 German chinstrap makers?
    Thanks....Alex

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS Helmet Chinstraps
    P
    Many

This is the only SS chinstrap I am comfortable with. It shows no RZM. It is rare, but we do see them occasionally on 1938 dated M35 SS helmets. There is also an early SS RZM that is a clip on type on the RZM helmets. But those are too rare to confirm authenticity IMO.
    M40 & 42 SS helmets had the same straps installed as the other branches of service.
    Our member Frank has an educational site on helmets & decals. He shows many straps to "watch out" for. "germanhelmetvault.com"
    David
    Attached Images Attached Images SS Helmet Chinstraps 

Thank you David! Can you tell me if LOHMANNWERKE A.G. 1943 BIELEFELD is a known manufacturer?
    Thanks again...Alex

Don't know. But there were a few manufacturers of leather in Bielefeld. Can you post a few GOOD pics of your strap ? Maybe we can tell if it is original or not.
    D.

I might just do that if it is ok to post pictures and change the subject on this SS forum which I started.

MAP
    ?

Quote by 3jusequlib View Post
    I might just do that if it is ok to post pictures and change the subject on this SS forum which I started.
    It's fine. Post away.