Become our sponsor and display your banner here

Dirlewanger collar tab question

Article about: For such a small and notorious unit the DW tabs seem to be plentiful and very reasonably priced. I would have thought they would be a high end item. Any reason they were made in such quantit

Default Dirlewanger collar tab question

For such a small and notorious unit the DW tabs seem to be plentiful and very reasonably priced.

I would have thought they would be a high end item.

Any reason they were made in such quantities?

Also I have seen this one for sale does it look ok please?

Many thanks

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dirlewanger%2001.jpg 
Views:	694 
Size:	78.0 KB 
ID:	776040   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dirlewanger%2002.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	92.3 KB 
ID:	776041  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    P
    Many

Except for the vast quantities found at Dachau, this would be a very rare item indeed. Over the years, I believe every Dachau insignia lot I purchased had at least one of these in the group. They were likely popular due to their design as were the Handschar tab. I doubt that any of the soldiers seeking souvenirs would have even known what the Dirlewinger unit was
    BOB

LIFE'S LOSERS NEVER LEARN FROM THE ERROR OF THEIR WAYS.

Quote by BOB COLEMAN View Post
    Except for the vast quantities found at Dachau, this would be a very rare item indeed. Over the years, I believe every Dachau insignia lot I purchased had at least one of these in the group. They were likely popular due to their design as were the Handschar tab. I doubt that any of the soldiers seeking souvenirs would have even known what the Dirlewinger unit was
    Thanks Bob, makes sense.

Cant say I have ever seen an original

Nick