Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... LastLast

SS Dog Tag Can Someone Translate Please?

Article about: Hi guys,even my most pristine docs show some sign of wear. Maybe Bob can get some close up pics or scans so we get a better look. Stewy S

Default Re: SS Dog Tag Can Someone Translate Please?

After discussing my disc with Dimas, I would like to relate our discussion. May I first say that I am no expert or would even consider myself knowledgable in the area of SS I D discs. That being said, the disc came with a huge grouping of material that was the property of Sturmbannfuhrer Alfred Arnold. At the time of purchase from his sister Hedwig, there was also a release of many items that belonged to Alfred Arnold Sr., an Allgemeine SS Brigadefuhrer. The father's grouping included an early black general officer's visor cap, his medals, his Totenkopf Ring, the family guest book signed by many 3rd Reich notables, a number of photographs and an oil painting of Adolf Hitler. Arnold Jr.'s grouping was far larger. It included a gray tunic and breeches, a white piped gray schiffen, a pair of boots with the shoe trees, three framed studio portraits of Arnold in gray uniform with Totenkopf insignia. two photo albums, over 300 loose photographs, a binder holding several hundred documents and pieces of correspondence to Arnold Jr. a binder holding 76 letters on consolation to the Arnold family from many noted 3rd Recih dignataries noting the combat death of Arnold Jr., several books given to Arnold with hand written dedications from Darre, a family friend and Himmler, the urkunde for the Ehrendegen and the Totenkopf Ring, the engraved pommel for the Ehrendegen, an officer hand embroidered Thule cufftitle, all of his pre war and wartime decorations including the HJ Honor Badge, SA sports in bronze w. urkunde, DRL badge in bronze w/urkunde, Reiter badge in bronze w/ urkunde,two cased SS long service medals, cased Czech An