Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

SS runes tab

Article about: Hi Guys, I would be please to see if anyone else would consider the tab as a fake. Cheers

Default Re: SS runes tab

Indeed. They are both long standing , resident 'experts' too

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS runes tab
    P
    Many

There was something about this tab I didn't like when I first saw it, and I still have the same feeling. The 2 guys on the WAF know their SS, the rune construction is a little course, the more I look at it, the actual rune's seem a little big to me

The learned member Felix over on waf says its the shape of the runes and the thickness of the stitching on the back

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Well it's sure fooled me,but then again thats not to difficult! Looked a nice Dachau type tab to me.I think i will stick to helmets!!

?

Fooled me too

Quote by Glenn66 View Post
    Oh how surprising...a WAF thread. Since when is buckram backing a sign of a fake tab?
    The buckram construction on most repro SS tabs is a big red flag

This is indeed a difficult one. Compare the rune construction to this one, not the best out there

SS Tab - Wehrmacht-Awards.com Militaria Forums
    Last edited by Adrian; 12-14-2012 at 03:21 AM. Reason: Photos uploaded.

?

Ok, so now we have some reasons for why the tab is a fake, have we got any reasons why the tab is original?

I'm sorry to keep asking these questions but unless we can get to the bottom of this, we have a useless thread and no conclusion.

Looking for LDO marked EK2s and items relating to U-406.....

here is my example, my only SS collar tab.