Become our sponsor and display your banner here

SS-Totenkopfverbände uniform on this man?

Article about: Hello everyone! Once more I have another question concerning a photo I have. Is this man a member of the SS-Totenkopfverbände? I tried to find a similar tunic on the web but can't find one.

Default SS-Totenkopfverbände uniform on this man?

Hello everyone! Once more I have another question concerning a photo I have. Is this man a member of the SS-Totenkopfverbände? I tried to find a similar tunic on the web but can't find one. This one has no epaulette's. What time period would also be a great help. The size of the photo would of been used in an ID book. Thanks!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	10247417_10203073567431464_5366974846563505763_n.jpg 
Views:	4289 
Size:	45.3 KB 
ID:	682741

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    P
    Many

?

It looks like a m36 tunic. I am no expert on SS, so that part i have to leave to the students of this organitation.

"Death's Head" collar patches and Army-style field blouses were worn both by concentration camp- / Totenkopfverbände personnel and members of the Totenkopfdivision.
    If a photo does not show additional distinguishing features (such as a cuff title or distinctive branch color piping), it is impossible to tell whether it is of a member of the former or the latter group.

(There are more circumstancial indicators, too. For example, an elderly private is most likely a camp guard, whereas an array of combat decorations points towards a T-Division member. This is not 100%, though.)

The picture was most likely taken during the early- to mid-war years, but could be of a later date as well.

Quote by HPL2008 View Post
    "Death's Head" collar patches and Army-style field blouses were worn both by concentration camp- / Totenkopfverbände personnel and members of the Totenkopfdivision.