Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ukrainian SS Uniform

Article about: Hi Mo, the SS was constantly in a state of flux. Himmler was much to blame. Cheers, Ade.

Default Ukrainian SS Uniform

Ukrainian SS Uniform

Hi to all
    I hope this works as I am new to all this but can anyone give me any imformation on the last person on the left bottom row of his rank or any other insight please I know the picture is poor but it is the best I have many thanks

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Ukrainian SS Uniform
    P
    Many

Default Re: Ukrainian SS Uniform

Hi, and welcome to the forum!

Appears to be an SS Untersturmfuhrer (Equal to a 2nd Lt).

Cheers, Ade.
    Had good advice? Saved money? Why not become a Gold Club Member, just hit the green "Join WRF Club" tab at the top of the page and help support the forum!

Quote by Adrian Stevenson View Post

Cheers, Ade.
    many thanks Ade

Quote by Adrian Stevenson View Post

Cheers, Ade.
    If they are Ukrainian SS men, he would be a Waffen-Untersturmführer

Rob

Foreign volunteers had the 'Waffen' prefix to their ranks instead of 'SS'?

Quote by ObKrieger View Post
    Foreign volunteers had the 'Waffen' prefix to their ranks instead of 'SS'?
    Yes, as did the whole division. The 14th SS Division was called the 14 Waffen-Grenadier Division der SS, i.e. a division "of the SS" as opposed to an SS Division. Depended whether you were considered 'Germanic' enough, and Ukrainians were classed as not. Membership of the SS was based on very strict racial guidelines

I know this is right as I used to know a former Ukrainian Waffen-Hauptsturmführer very well

Rob