Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Another M33 Duckbill Stabswache helmet

Article about: by Anders Sorry but I have seen photos from the time with both M16 and M18 + Austrian helmets shells shown.. Sorry Anders, I was a bit ambiguous in my post. By combat shells, I meant no civi

I deleted the post with the images. I just told about my observations
    and what I had seen with photographs. I did not speak at all about authenticity.
    Anders can show the close-ups in a coming book, as he has them.
    Last edited by Wilhelm Saris; 03-19-2014 at 05:08 PM.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Another M33 Duckbill Stabswache helmet
    P
    Many

?

A pleasure to see.

All in all a very rare helmet! timothy

?

Quote by Wilhelm Saris View Post
    I am not a helmet expert, in no way. But from photographs I know (some I did
    show in my book "Ringkragen und Brustschilder im Dritten Reich") , I can
    see the Stabswache- or Feldherrnhalle helmets did not have the double
    ventilation-holes. The decal was just beneath the one hole! Just an observation of
    mine!
    Hi Wim, Thanks for your observations.
    If you take a look in your book "Headgear of Hitler's Germany" vol:3
    On page 433 there are a photograph from a wedding where the soldiers wear exactly the same
    kind of Wachtstandarte helmet that Jim and I have posted here.

?

by Scout

Looks like the decals were more or less deliberately removed.

Quote by helmet2id View Post
    There are very few surviving examples of Stabswache Rohm helmets, and on nearly all at least the Red Adler decal, which I believe is what identifies it as a Stabswache ROHM piece, has been intentionally defaced, or, as on my example, nearly entirely removed. I believe that the Adler decal was intentionally obliterated on these after the Night of the Long Knives, when Rohm, and many other SA members were murdered on Hitler's order. Jim G.