Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

How to remove paint from a decal

Article about: Don't attempt anything would be my advice. You may make it worse than it is.

Default Re: How to remove paint from a decal

Don't attempt anything would be my advice. You may make it worse than it is.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement How to remove paint from a decal
    P
    Many

?

The question you should be asking yourself is WHY was it overpainted, for what reason, is the decal damaged under that paint, was it done period or post war, ive been restoring helmets for many years and the one thing ive never used is Brasso, if it even gets near the other parts of the decal and it will, because you cant be that accurate and it seeps,you will no doubt affect the other colours plus if there is damage underneath it will show up like a sore thumb also the edges of the helmet colour will look newer because its acting as a type of "T-CUT" . In this instance i would leave well alone especially if your not experienced in helmet restoration, Brasso is very useful on items that need cleaning, like metal and it will clean other items but it certainly isnt kind to decals

" ive been restoring helmets for many years and the one thing ive never used is Brasso, if it even gets near the other parts of the decal and it will, because you cant be that accurate and it seeps, also the edges of the helmet colour will look newer because its acting as a type of "T-CUT" .
    Brasso is very useful on items that need cleaning, like metal and it will clean other items but it certainly isnt kind to decals"

Like you said Dave.....you've never used it for this purpose!
    It does, (as you imagined) act like T-cut on paint (which is the whole point of it at the end of the day).....and if you don't want the surrounding areas affected you use a bit of grey matter and masking tape (didn't mention it as I wouldn't imagine anybody would try it without).