Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here

M35 - Comments and advice welcome (I am a newbie)

Article about: Hi all, I am very much an amateur hobbyist around this type of collecting, so more knowledgeable opinions would be greatly appreciated. The story behind something is so important in giving a

Default M35 - Comments and advice welcome (I am a newbie)

Hi all,

I am very much an amateur hobbyist around this type of collecting, so more knowledgeable opinions would be greatly appreciated. The story behind something is so important in giving an item richness and value. From my sleuthing, I understand this to be an M35, maker: Eisenhüttenwerk Thale (Batch number 3566)

It appears that its paint scheme is in line with the March 1940 general order regarding helmets being painted a rough textured field gray (matte)

This particular example came to me by way of a family friend. It came from the grandfather of a family friend of his. He was a South African soldier who fought in North Africa. He had picked up a couple of souvenirs (Pictures to come in other threads) including this helmet. From what I understand, it remained in his duffel bag from wars end to his death.

Apart from general comments and assessment, I would really like to get upkeep advice around the leather liner and straps (They are dry and relativey stiff, but overall in good condition) as well as whether I should do anything to the shell itself. Apart from a wipe down with a dry cloth, there has been nothing done to this helmet. Looking forward to comments!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement M35 - Comments and advice welcome (I am a newbie)
    P
    Many

Hey, Dopplegarp,