Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here

Is this a real M42 Stahlhelm?

Article about: Hi Guys, look at my helmet. It's a real M42. Correct? Because of the missing flange. The air hole is also typical, right? How would you get rid of the rust? With destilled water or oxalic ac

Default Is this a real M42 Stahlhelm?

Hi Guys,
    look at my helmet. It's a real M42. Correct? Because of the missing flange. The air hole is also typical, right?
    How would you get rid of the rust? With destilled water or oxalic acid? I think there will not be an emblem, not M42.

Thank you
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Is this a real M42 Stahlhelm?   Is this a real M42 Stahlhelm?  

Is this a real M42 Stahlhelm?   Is this a real M42 Stahlhelm?  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Is this a real M42 Stahlhelm?
    P
    Many

To me, this looks like M42, but i'm not an expert so do not take my word for it. I have bad luck with helmets because I never seem to be able to get my hands on an M42 or M35, only M40s, so I have nothing to cross reference with. From the looks of it, I don't think it's even possible to remove the rust at this point, but somebody else may disagree with me!

It's an M42. The characteristic flared edge gives it away.
    It being that model doesn't completely eliminate the possibility of a decal. I have a relic M42 pulled from a lake in France, with the remains of a Heer decal on the left side.
    Honestly, I wouldn't expect to recover much from a relic that's badly pitted. Just a personal opinion, but if it were mine, I'd seek to stabilise it and not do much else in the way of tampering. It's a nice relic shell as it is, and will never be a 'proper' helmet again. The history in relics is in the dirt and the rust.

Regards, B.B.

Oxalic acid is nasty stuff, but does work wonders. You could also use vehicle rust remover. It is indeed an M42.