Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Some opinions would be appreciated

Article about: So I'm still relatively new to collecting helmets and then I came across this one. I tend to think it's appearance is legitimate and who has it also appears to be legitimate....but I'm cauti

?

Default Some opinions would be appreciated

So I'm still relatively new to collecting helmets and then I came across this one.
    I tend to think it's appearance is legitimate and who has it also appears to be legitimate....but I'm cautious after what I've read and seen.

Anyway I'd appreciate it if people could tell me what they see. Thank you

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Some opinions would be appreciated
    P
    Many

If I saw this on a table at a show...I would not even pick it up. Not a convincing period done camo IMO plus you can observe the liner/split pin issues. It bares resemblance to the "shake & bake" tan camo's from the 80's. Tan paint & then oven baked to produce the stress marks & cracks.

Others may like it though...
    D.

?

Seeing posts like David's above makes me come out in a cold sweat realising how little I still know on this topic...

I think based on my limited experience of collecting Militaria that German helmets are the most complex and knowledge rich part of this interest area to get involved in.

Quote by MG42UK View Post
    Seeing posts like David's above makes me come out in a cold sweat realising how little I still know on this topic...

I think based on my limited experience of collecting Militaria that German helmets are the most complex and knowledge rich part of this interest area to get involved in.
    German combat helmets without camo can be bought quite safely , camo helmets is another story.
    Medals , visors , caps, uniforms there is quite a lot of fakery going on there as well.
    You need expertise in any collecting field if you plan to spend a lot of money.