Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thoughts on M42 ?

Article about: Hi Guys, Can I have your thoughts on this helmet ? It would be my first German helmet so I have no experience in this field. It doesn't ever seem to have been taken apart except that 1 of th

I agree its a shame about the missing paint over the number, not scratched off by me though.
    I am fairly practical in the way that I can understand that things sometimes need replacing and it is better to have a helmet with some history than one of those repainted, artificially aged helmets off of Epay which seem to go for ridiculous amounts of money.

This one came from the car-boot sale and was not expensive. I figured if it was genuine I would keep it as is or if the paint job was not authentic I would re-paint it for the Southern Italian Front after some research. I think I shall keep it as it is and may possibly change the chinstrap at a later date if proved to be too modern. I like the idea of the Polish strap although I have not found any pictures to reference.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Thoughts on M42 ?
    P
    Many

?

Quote by Roger M View Post
    I agree its a shame about the missing paint over the number, not scratched off by me though.
    I am fairly practical in the way that I can understand that things sometimes need replacing and it is better to have a helmet with some history than one of those repainted, artificially aged helmets off of Epay which seem to go for ridiculous amounts of money.

This one came from the car-boot sale and was not expensive. I figured if it was genuine I would keep it as is or if the paint job was not authentic I would re-paint it for the Southern Italian Front after some research. I think I shall keep it as it is and may possibly change the chinstrap at a later date if proved to be too modern. I like the idea of the Polish strap although I have not found any pictures to reference.