Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thoughts on M42 ?

Article about: Hi Guys, Can I have your thoughts on this helmet ? It would be my first German helmet so I have no experience in this field. It doesn't ever seem to have been taken apart except that 1 of th

Default Thoughts on M42 ?

Hi Guys,
    Can I have your thoughts on this helmet ? It would be my first German helmet so I have no experience in this field. It doesn't ever seem to have been taken apart except that 1 of the split pins seems to of been replaced with a rounder version (Seen in the front on photo). It has been repainted a long time ago which has touched onto the liner in a few places. I can't see any dates and I don't want to take it apart in a hunt so just a visual appraisal.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Thoughts on M42 ?   Thoughts on M42 ?  

Thoughts on M42 ?   Thoughts on M42 ?  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Thoughts on M42 ?
    P
    Many

hi roger i have a feeling judging by the liner and chinstrap its perhaps a norwegian reissue but lets here other opinions first

Overall the helmet looks okay to me...The paint matches my M42's (But I'm no paint-expert), the liner is an original...different pin as noted, and the chinstrap is definitely a replacement, perhaps Norwegian as suggested...Depending on the price, this is a good helmet to start off with, in my opinion, I'm sure others will disagree, lol!...
    cheers, Glenn

Your first ? Don't buy this then but a decent untouched example.

Thanks for your thoughts so far ..............

The Liner does not look like the red colour of the Norwegian liners that I have seen and the strap I was always dubious about so no real surprise there. Constructive criticism is always good. I bought it with a good Wolseley sun helmet and a Khaki Drill Bush jacket (unsure of era) and what looks like an Indian made p37 belt.