Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Value of German WWII helmets, how to I.D. and the different types.

Article about: Hello, I adore the look of the WWII Stahlhelm, but every time I've seen one they are extraordinarily expensive. What is the value of an authentic one, in decent condition w/liner. As well, h

Default Value of German WWII helmets, how to I.D. and the different types.

Hello, I adore the look of the WWII Stahlhelm, but every time I've seen one they are extraordinarily expensive. What is the value of an authentic one, in decent condition w/liner. As well, how can they be identified from each other and from fakes, and what other types are there (M42, M1916 etc.)? Thanks for any help.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Value of German WWII helmets, how to I.D. and the different types.
    P
    Many

I’m no expert, but the 3 main types of WW2 helmets would be the M35, M40, and M42. The values can vary by the hundreds and even thousands depending on the paint, condition, decals, etc. I’ve come across a few decent helmets but most I see with the liner are upwards of $500 and they’re usually far from being in good quality condition. It all depends though on exactly what type of helmet it is however.

It would take volumes to answer your questions. Start by reading some of the pinned threads on this forum, go back through the posted threads, and consider buying a good reference book. To my mind, Ken Niewiarowicz's book Germany's Combat Helmets 1933-1945, A Modern Study is about the best out there. Study up a bit, go to a few militaria shows to see helmets in the flesh, and above all start out modestly, don't try to score the double decal SS Paratrooper helmet for your first piece. When/if you decide to take the plunge and actually buy something post pictures here for review before dropping your cash. The members will help you for the most part and possibly save you a bundle of money. Jim G.