Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

WWII German Afrika Corps DAK Desert Camo Helmet Real???

Article about: Hello Today I was at a show and I saw a WWII German Afrika Corps desert camo helmet. The seller was asking \\$350 for it and I was interested in purchasing it, but I was a little skeptical abo

?

Default WWII German Afrika Corps DAK Desert Camo Helmet Real???

Hello
    Today I was at a show and I saw a WWII German Afrika Corps desert camo helmet. The seller was asking $350 for it and I was interested in purchasing it, but I was a little skeptical about its authenticity. Is there any sure fire way to tell if it is authentic or not? I noticed the camo paint was smooth and the helmet still retained a lot of the paint. The national decal was still present. The liner looked okay, but I just do not know. Does the liner have to be a certian color? I would really appreciate any help, because I am just a beginner and I really could use some help from more experinced collectors.
    Thank-You

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement WWII German Afrika Corps DAK Desert Camo Helmet Real???
    P
    Many

Default Re: WWII German Afrika Corps DAK Desert Camo Helmet Real???

Without pictures any comments would be worthless. Sorry. Jim G.

As Jim said, without pictures, it's going to be hard for us to say.

Here are a few tips that may help...

SMELL! Stick your nose inside the helmet. Does it smell like grandma's attic, or does it smell like fresh paint? A fresh paint smell is bad... very bad. A helmet from the ~1940s shouldn't have a fresh from the factory smell to it.