Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

My relatives uniform idea

Article about: Thanks for the link to his grave details Ade, I now know the date of his death so I can try and find out what his unit were doing on that day. I know his wife visited the grave at somepoint

?

Default My relatives uniform idea

Morning guys and gals

I have a few pictures of my relative W.Williams who died during the last few weeks of war,

I thought it would be nice for me to buy all the uniform items he would have worn during his service and put them together with his medals I have which he was awarded,

I am very new to the uniform/webbing collecting side of things so would appreciate some help, also would the uniform in the pics be what he would be wearing in action??

if you can tell me what the item is called and what I would expect to pay for it that would be great , then i can slowly compile an outfit on a manequin next to his medal display

I am also looking at doing this for my relative who was in the RA (I have his "RA"lapel he left me and am getting his service record in the next few weeks)

thanks

Jim

on the right

Just realised how lucky I am to have so many pictures of him!!

?

Default Re: My relatives uniform idea

Just found this also , it says he was a N.C.O and that he was part of a Mortar crew.?

I wonder what weapon he would have had, webley? , Enfield?

Hi Jim, nice idea.

The shorts and shirts are what are known as "KD's". (Khaki Drill) I expect nearly all of these pics were taken in Italy.

He wears two types of cap. I have covered both in detail on the forum. The Feild Service or "FS" cap is the side cap, while the other is the "General Service cap" (Looks like a beret.)

The other pic shows him in the khaki woolen serge Battledress Blouse. This is the so called 1937 pattern. The RA collar dogs are not regulation wear on BD, but was done on occasion by some units for "best".