Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here

Is This A Genuine Vietnam M1 Helmet?

Article about: I picked up this helmet about 6-7 years ago when i first became very interested in the Vietnam war, only recently have i been thinking that this may be a genuine Vietnam helmet yet I am a bi

Post Is This A Genuine Vietnam M1 Helmet?

I picked up this helmet about 6-7 years ago when i first became very interested in the Vietnam war, only recently have i been thinking that this may be a genuine Vietnam helmet yet I am a bit of a noob when it comes to authenticating M1 helmets especially during the Vietnam era. So I turn to you guys as you are probably more experienced than me with M1 helmets . I have taken many photos to try and give you guys a good overall look at the helmet. Personally I think it may be an authentic helmet due to the wear and tear but i'm not 100% sure so I would like your input and also to see what information you can get from it. I have attached the pictures below. If some of you find the writing hard to read I will type it here. On the mitchell cover it has "W.M" on the left side and "Massey" down and to the right of it (might these be a name/initials?), on the helmet liner it has some writing in marker which I cant make out, it does however have "3/3" written in finer pen and what i think is "12" below it? The number on the shell is "6755", the rest of the text/writing i think is easy enough for everyone to read.