Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

M1 Fixed Bale

Article about: Hello Guys, I am very new to collecting US M1 Helmets. I came across this one near me. The pictures are all I have right now. I am trying to get some more. What should I be looking for? Shel

Default M1 Fixed Bale

Hello Guys,

I am very new to collecting US M1 Helmets. I came across this one near me. The pictures are all I have right now. I am trying to get some more. What should I be looking for? Shell looks in good condition. Khaki chinstrap looks good. What do you think of the markings? This guy is asking for an offer which I know you do not like but I cannot change that. It seems to be just a shell and no liner. What would be a fair offer?

Thanks,

William

M1 Fixed BaleM1 Fixed Bale

Hi William, the pictures are not great but from what i can see it looks original. The markings appear to be someone's initials, the helmet also looks to have original paint and chinstrap. As for price in the UK a fixed bail with original paint shell like this one would cost around £100, but original M1's are a lot more scarce here.

Cheers
    Harry

Quote by Harry Davey View Post
    Hi William, the pictures are not great but from what i can see it looks original. The markings appear to be someone's initials, the helmet also looks to have original paint and chinstrap. As for price in the UK a fixed bail with original paint shell like this one would cost around £100, but original M1's are a lot more scarce here.

Cheers
    Harry
    Thanks Harry that is a great help. I hope I can get better pictures. Do you think the initials are from WWII or added later?

William

a fixed shell like that might sell for over $100 on ebay on an auction, but since he's asking for your offer maybe offer him $50 - $75

I found a Navy used fixed bale for around $50 at the antique mall

the shell does look original from WWII with original markings & paint