Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

My M1... the helmet that started it all!

Article about: Thanks for posting that pic of your German helmet it gives me hope that one day i will have one too. - Mack

Default My M1... the helmet that started it all!

Hello all!

This is the helmet that started my fascination with World War 2 and my modest militaria collection. I received it about 15 years ago as a gift from my uncle.

I don't know too much about it... any additional information would be of great help!

I do know that it has an MSA liner AND fits my head great considering how humongous my melon is. When I first received the helmet the leather chin strap was missing. This past weekend I was able to obtain an authentic replacement from a vendor at the Reading WW2 weekend in Reading, PA. Hopefully that was a good move on my part...

I am a high school history teacher and have brought it in along with a few other helmets in my modest collection for my students... It was a tense situation as a handful of my students aren't always exactly the best behaved. With that being said, sharing the helmets with them was a hit and I'll continue to do so for years to come.

What do you guys think?!

Default Re: My M1... the helmet that started it all!

nice WWII lid you have there...

M1 helmets are 'one size fits all'. I have a big head too. It's nice to know that all of my M1's fit my melon.

Please post your German helmet! We would love to see it.

Thanks for posting on all my threads! I just found this forum and am very excited to share my modest collection. I have used everything as teaching aids in my 11th grade history class.

I purchased a recently purchased a Japanese home guard helmet (Which I'm hoping is real...) and this is the rest of my collection: