Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Winter Camo M1 Helmet

Article about: It could be Korean war snow camo, but that looking on the bright side. Some one could have did post war paint job and aged it. I cant recall ever seeing a picture of the battle of the bulge

Default Winter Camo M1 Helmet

Does this look like an authentic Korean War winter cammo helmet to you guys? It is a fixed bail front seam helmet.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Winter Camo M1 Helmet   Winter Camo M1 Helmet  

Winter Camo M1 Helmet   Winter Camo M1 Helmet  

Default Re: Winter Cammo M1 Helmet

Any heat stamp on shell, or maker's mark inside crown of liner?

I'm no expert but I don't see anything at first glance that would make me doubt this is a good early WW2/Korea lid.

Pat

Looks like ww2 to me to, with my limited knowledge.
    Nape strap one piece ww2
    Fixed bail front seam ww2
    Colour of strap and liner webbing looks ww2
    As Patgore above says liner maker and heat stamp will probably give it away.
    Also when the white paint was added could be anyone’s guess .Was their white camo helmets in the Korean conflict? hopefully someone else will know more about it.
    Looks like a nice ww2 helmet to me. well done.
    Rod

White camo was common in the winter in Korea, and earlier in the Ardennes, and, for all I know , in the Appenines in Italy.

Mostly applied by slapping on whatever white paint the QM had in stock, or even local purchase/acquisition. As plumbob says, pretty hard to date the paint job, and this does have an authentic look. If not, it's well faked. But I like this helmet. Anyone disagree?

Pat