Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help with a Willys?

Article about: Thanks for the info and advice guys! Here's what I know about the jeep after geeting a bit more info. From what I understand, the Jeep is a '41 build Willys and was converted to 12 volts. It

?

Default Help with a Willys?

I have a friend who's father collected cars and vehicles - rented them to the movie industry. He passed away last year and the family is slowly seeling off some of them.

Among them is a Willys - running and partially restored. They think it is an early '40s but are unsure. It was not formally registered in the US until 1955.

Can anyone give an approximate age based on these pictures? Is there someplace on the frame where it might be dated?

Jen told me they will be asking $3500 - it is in California and the buyer will be responsible for shipping.

Any help, guys?

Help with a Willys?Help with a Willys?

Default Re: Help with a Willys?

I'm no expert but first glance strongly suggests a wartime Willys MB. I would suggest the price is good regardless and you should snap it up. A UK based Willys MB for restoration, not running will generally set you back in excess of $5,000. Even a post-war French-built Hotchkiss jeep will set you back the same if not more.

A 1955 registered US date may suggest that the vehicle was in Europe until that time. With British issued vehicles a history card is available which states all units a vehicle served. I'm not sure if it''s the same for US vehicles though.

There should be a data plate on the dashboard that gives the exact specifications, dates etc. Face value it looks okay but more pics would be good. How many batteries and what voltage?
    Last edited by skypilot; 08-03-2011 at 01:52 PM.