Become our sponsor and display your banner here

Advice on bren, is it right?

Article about: Hello all, I have only just registered on the site and this is my first post so be gentle with me if I make a pigs ear of it . I have been given some money and I am looking to buy the classi

Default Advice on bren, is it right?

Hello all,

I have only just registered on the site and this is my first post so be gentle with me if I make a pigs ear of it .

I have been given some money and I am looking to buy the classic Bren. I am not to bothered by model etc but would like it to be ww2.

I am currently looking at this Inglis 1943 Mk1m.

I am no expert and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

Cheers
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mk1%20Bren%20003-1.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	159.3 KB 
ID:	557488   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mk1%20Bren%20002-1.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	105.1 KB 
ID:	557487  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mk1%20Bren%20004-1.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	151.0 KB 
ID:	557489   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mk1%20Bren%20005.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	118.7 KB 
ID:	557490  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mk1%20Bren%20006-1.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	102.2 KB 
ID:	557491  

Welcome to the board, I hope you find all the advice you will receive here of use.

The Bren is a fine LMG and the right gun is a good investment. I split the Brens into two groups, original spec and mixed bags, collectors tend to prefer original spec and ideally would rather have a matching numbers gun. Military vehicle enthusiasts prefer the mixed bag Brens as they tend to be a little cheaper and don't mind if they look well used.