Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 8 of 19 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 18 ... LastLast

Cut Down Lee Enfield

Article about: I am still 100% certain that this was a RE modified weapon. The fact that the picture is taken in the Hill 60 museum where mining was at its peak would back this up. Sappers cut them down be

Default Re: Cut Down Lee Enfield

I'm no weapons expert, but, if this was cut down as a training example...why take the time to shape the front of the stock like that? It has many marks on it like it was tooled by hand.
    Were these not typically made from walnut? To shape walnut like that would be a serious pain in the ass. It looks like it has been shaped for the other hand, so it would have been held by two hands. I agree that holding this like a pistol would have seen nothing but broken wrists and thumbs.
    Could this have not been hip fired with the .410 shotgun shells?
    I'm just guessing.

..and I have to say, this is one interesting discussion here

?

Hi to all,
    look on this forum! It was used on the universal carriers!

yup...understood loud and clear radek...read the whole thread, a few times to make my assumption. I found the entire thread very interesting. It is amazing to hear stories from so many who have fired all different variations of the Enfield and their opinions on firing this bad boy. I didn't realize that everyone had finished and agreed that it was used for smoke discharge from a MkII carrier.
    I'm looking at the cut down pictures from the other forum, and I see how I would expect a stock to be cut...flat, not tooled. Perpendicular to the barrel.Why engineer the thing for ergonomics especially when the triggering mechanism was a cord? Did I not read that correctly? I also see around the stock cut closer to the action in the other forum. Why is it drastically different by a few inches? Did crewmen make these all themselves? Was it included in the vehicle when produced?