Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here

karabiner 98k byf 44

Article about: Yesterdays pick up, traded a Dutch m95 No.5 at a gun show for this. It is my first German firearm! I took it out to the range a few hours after picking it up and held a 2" group off han

Default karabiner 98k byf 44

Yesterdays pick up, traded a Dutch m95 No.5 at a gun show for this. It is my first German firearm!
    I took it out to the range a few hours after picking it up and held a 2" group off hand.
    It has no import marks, I am new to German guns so any help with markings is appreciated. It is not all matching.
    I am also not sure what the K on the stock represents?

-Ben
    karabiner 98k byf 44karabiner 98k byf 44

Hey Ben. You made a nice trade. byf 44- Mauser Werke, Oberndorf.

K98k manufacturer's codes 1934-1945

Here's a couple books that might interest you.

Luke

Thanks, the worse part is now I want another! I passed up a G33/40 a few years ago and now I regret it.

?

Nice one Ben.
    Congrat's!!!
    Semper Fi
    Phil

MAP
    ?

From what I can see it's a nice one! There must be at least one in every collection. Kicks like a mule IMHO (like the G33/40) but I'm only 150 lbs...

I'm sure another G33/40 will come by....

M
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

Nice find. The k appears to be a mark from the stockmaker. Notice the H stamping on stock denoting army issuance {Heers} Stock up on a few books as suggested above. Mauser 98k can be a minefield.

Quote by AmericanKraut View Post
    Yesterdays pick up, traded a Dutch m95 No.5 at a gun show for this. It is my first German firearm!
    I took it out to the range a few hours after picking it up and held a 2" group off hand.