Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Mauser K98 bolt action rifle, what do you guys think?

Article about: Hi Glen, I would urge you to save your money. These were never used by German or foreign volunteer units, simply used by the Spanish Army. Cheers, Ade.

Default Mauser K98 bolt action rifle, what do you guys think?

Hey guys, I am completely new to this side of militaria collecting as I am normally put off by the high prices of firearms. Any how, I have been offered this Mauser by a fellow collector who is downsizing his collection. He has told me that this rifle was used by the spanish blue division fighting with the Waffen SS, although it may be impossible to prove it. It is also dated 1943 and comes fully deactivated. I am waiting on some more pictures (ones of any markings) but he has said that I can buy it for £175!!! Is it just me or is this cheap?
    Thanks, Glen.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Mauser K98 bolt action rifle, what do you guys think?   Mauser K98 bolt action rifle, what do you guys think?  

Default Re: Mauser K98 bolt action rifle, what do you guys think?

The bolt looks quite pitted in the pics but it's not a bad thing. Love the tiger striping on the but stock though. Good price for a deac, wait for more pics but I would be tempted to move should it turn out ok.

Cheers
    Jason

Hi Glen, I would ignore the Blue Division "story".

Mauser rifles are a HUGE study in their own right. All I can tell you is it is not a true K98: note the lack of the turned down bolt handle which should lie flat against the stock and not stick out at 90 degrees. Also the sling mounts are different, bayonet lug, etc. Also note the finger groove in the stock.

This is a Spanish M43 Mauser.

Clearly there are condition issues re the bolt and the bad pitting.

Cheers, Ade.