Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Bulgarian M72 ??

Article about: Hi fellow collectors. I am not an expert on Bulgarian helmets, so would appreciate any advice on this model. I am not sure if it is a M51 or a M51/72 , I am aware there is a difference in sh

?

Default Re: Bulgarian M72 ??

?

Default Re: Bulgarian M72 ??

Quote by JBR View Post
    I think there's a further source of confusion over the steel shell's form. Having looked at loads of these at shows and on line, quite a few seem (to me, anyway) to have had the shell reversed during the manufacturing process. Where this appears to have happened, the slightly pointed peak still occurs at the front (so reversal after stamping but before trimming?) and the rivets are still 2 at front/1 to rear (so reversal after drilling, too?) but the bottom side profile curve appears further towards the front than on non-reversed shells. Also, the crown profile looks decidedly different towards the front. There are other variations, I believe - particularly regarding the M51 shell - where stamping or trimming has taken place slightly on the slant fore and aft, again resulting in a slightly odd looking form. Getting back to the differences between the M51 and M51/72, in my opinion the latter is much less streamlined than the former, it's bowl tending more towards ball shape. Well, that's my tuppence-worth!

Many thanks for your input JBR, it is great to read your information, these helmets are so cheap and readily available on the surplus market, but are nevertheless quite fascinating with their differences!

JBR
    ?

Here's an example of 'back to front' construction currently on eBay: Bulgarian army M51 / M72 cold war steel helmet unissued still in factory paper | eBay

Best Regards, John

?

Quote by JBR View Post