Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Italian M33 helmet-1947-90

Article about: Goodmorning everyone, with this post I wanted to share with you some Italian M33 helmets of the post war period, used between 1947 and the early 90s. Identified unambiguously the manufacture

I too shall be interested to see Roberto's opinion. My own - and I am no expert on these helmets - is that you have an excellent example of an early M33 in original paint, with what appears to be a version of the MVSN (Milizia Volontaria per la Sicurezza Nazionale) badge on the front. But it is not exactly the same as the badge I know, so there is still detective work to be done (I've tried and failed...). Good helmet.

Thanks Greg I've owned this one for over 10 years and still none the wiser. The M33 I've tried to research and still have no clue to what era this one is from. Hopefully Roberto will solve this one

Hello Ian,
    not really an expert but I know them well enough for obvious reasons of nationality.
    What I see is a M33 in sage-colored similar to the one in use from 1934 to 1940 and the flash should be mod. 1938 of MVSN (National Security Volunteer Militia).
    Having said that the world of helmets 33 is worse than that of the US M1, in the sense that remained in use for 50 years during which these helmets were repeatedly reviewed using sometimes a mix of components from different eras, and also it does not exist a truly comprehensive literature, particularly in identifying the lot numbers and then you go to the very experienced.
    Also some Units continued to use up to 70s, helmets M33 configured in a manner very similar to those of WW2, such as this police example:
    Italian M33 helmet-1947-90Italian M33 helmet-1947-90Italian M33 helmet-1947-90