Become our sponsor and display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Seeking information on the following helmet

Article about: I'm a beginner collector and picked up a range of things while travelling Europe. I'd appreciate your help in identifying this helmet, who would have worn it, period of manufacture, thoughts

MAP
    ?

Quote by JL81 View Post
    The saved image on my computer is already in portrait the right side up. However, after I uploaded it using the forum image host, it turned sideways. Is there anyway to rotate the image in the forum image host before uploading?
    Quote by reneblacky View Post
    you still have to save it via paint 3D
    The key is to "edit" the photo. When taken from a phone, the rotation is screwed up. So just downloading and then uploading will not do the trick. So using Paint 3D would work. But also any other editing tool. Just a basic "edit" does the trick.

The issue is not the forum software, happens on other forums as well.
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

?

-Does the term "Adrian" have any meaning to these helmets?
    The design is credited to be from Intendant-General August-Louis Adrian

-It appears to be a Spartan soldier on the front. What is the meaning of this?
    What I can find out is that in the 16th Century, Marshal Sébastien Le Prestre de Vauban, created the Engineer Corps and defined the badge, the cuirass and helmet were worn by soldiers that repaired defenses because of the proximity to danger. There may be some poetic license in that translation hopefully someone will correct me if it is wrong