Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

USAF Base - Burtonwood.Keeping the memories alive.

Article about: by HARRY THE MOLE Hi Gunny, If you go up Burtonwood Road over the railway bridge, you will come to a road which dissects Burtonwood Road - which is now closed off at this point. Just the oth

Default USAF Base - Burtonwood.Keeping the memories alive.

The latest addition to the childrens playground on the site of the former USAF base at Burtonwood. My three-year-old grand-daughter brings in the plane after another successful mission.
    USAF Base - Burtonwood.Keeping the memories alive.USAF Base - Burtonwood.Keeping the memories alive.USAF Base - Burtonwood.Keeping the memories alive.

Default Re: USAF Base - Burtonwood.Keeping the memories alive.

I love it! I wish that was around when I was a kid

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Very nice. Great use of a big lump of concrete.

I just wonder how long it will be before some little sod paints a pair of boobs on it.................

Looks brilliant Steve, i'll take my grandson!...

Great stuff "H" and nice pics too........Jake.

Cool!

Stig Erik

Quote by Woolgar View Post
    I love it! I wish that was around when I was a kid

Nick
    The local playground when I was a kid had a Harvard on poles in it. Was great fun to climb up and into but i assume the do-gooders had it removed in later years in light of 'safety concerns'. Another park further away had a DC3 in it but even as kids we knew to be careful running around over that thing, it was a long way to fall from a DC3 wingtip!

I was there again with my grand-daughter the other day. The paint is already starting to peel off. Little actually remains of the base now. There are just the odd bunker here and there. When I have more time I will try and record what can still be seen.

What road is the playground on Steve?...

Hi Gunny,