Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Para helmet

Article about: Hello everyone. I'm posting pics of one of my para lightweight helmets. I shall try and post pics of the others but to be honest this one is the most interesting. I'm relatively new to helme

?

Default Para helmet

Hello everyone.
    I'm posting pics of one of my para lightweight helmets.
    I shall try and post pics of the others but to be honest this one is the most interesting.
    I'm relatively new to helmet collecting and have what would be considered a 'starter collection '.
    I have learned a huge amount from this forum and more importantly have received help and advice which is much appreciated.
    James C has kindly donated the hood, band and net to finish off this helmet. ( he also explained how awkward it would be to actually get the hood on- he wasn't wrong!!!!)
    Thank you James for your kindness, and I hope the finished result is ok!
    When I purchased this helmet , it came with a MK6 chin strap which I've changed . I am not sure if the chin strap that I've put in is of the right epoch , so any comments would be welcome.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Para helmet   Para helmet  

Para helmet   Para helmet  

A nice helmet, but why change the chinstrap? The chinstrap was more than likely the one that was originally fitted to the helmet, so now you have a helmet that isn't in its original 'as-worn' configuration!

Cheers,
    Steve

Nice lid and i think they came with a couple of chin strap options, this is one type.
    British Lightweight Para Helmet With Vinyl Chinstraps

?

I still have the MK6 chin strap and it'll be easy to replace. It wouldn't of been issued with it and I've not seen another early one with one.
    It doesn't really for the bill of the age of this helmet by what I've been told by an ex airborne mate of mine ( who's latter helmet is fitted with one by himself)