Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here

PLEASE HELP. Unidentifiable stamp symbol on metal scabbard of German made Chilean issued M1895

Article about: I am in urgent need of ANY information anyone can provide on the maker’s mark or symbol that’s on the bayonet SCABBARD I have. My mom is really wanting me to research faster, LOL, becaus

Default PLEASE HELP. Unidentifiable stamp symbol on metal scabbard of German made Chilean issued M1895

I am in urgent need of ANY information anyone can provide on the maker’s mark or symbol that’s on the bayonet SCABBARD I have. My mom is really wanting me to research faster, LOL, because I have quite a few knives to evaluate for sale, like…ASAP. Since I’m a complete novice, research is extremely interesting, extremely time consuming, and extremely overwhelming at times. I’m fairly certain my bayonet is a German made, Chilean issued M1895. The maker is Weyersberg Kirschbaum & Co, Solingen, but on the other side there are 2 markings on the ricasso: a Chilean Crest stamp and a 3–circle Krupp steel stamp. And there’s a tiny random “Y” on the grip right at the crosspiece. The number on the crosspiece seems to have been smoothly ground down a long time ago.

OKAY… So, my dilemma is the scabbard. It fits the bayonet perfectly, but I’m questioning and wondering if they actually go together. I have looked at so many bayonets and scabbards and pages of marking’s and thousands of symbols that I’m actually getting a bit frustrated, because I realized that a LOT of people take terrible pictures and often don’t even photograph ALL the markings! Especially ones on a scabbard’s finial and rim, which is where the 2 identical symbols are stamped on mine. There are no other markings on the scabbard, whatsoever. I would be so thankful if some or one of you could help me with this mystery symbol!!! So, here are the pics: