Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here

WKC Bayonet - Information Please

Article about: Hello Everyone, Today I bought this WKC bayonet, sheath and frog at the flea-market. It was for me, a leap in the dark, as I've no great knowledge of bayonets, but I knew if I hesitated, in

?

Default WKC Bayonet - Information Please

Hello Everyone,
    Today I bought this WKC bayonet, sheath and frog at the flea-market. It was for me, a leap in the dark, as I've no great knowledge of bayonets, but I knew if I hesitated, in five minutes another collector would be along and take it, so I bought it on the strength of recognizing the makers mark Weyersberg, Kirchbaum & C. - Solingen, good blade condition, matching bayonet & sheath numbers K 3096 and believing it fitted K98 rifle. I've no concerns about the genuineness of the piece, on getting it home, I started to wonder about the frog colour brown not black and its design with locking strap, not usual. Looking at the bayonet the holding slit is shorter 3cm long than normal 4cm, hand guard is longer than normal with a 15mm hole, last point, sheath number stamped on frog holding pin, normally it goes on the outside of the sheath mouth. Do members have any information on the points I've raised i.e. does it fit a K98 rifle, is the frog right, am I correct in thinking the K at the start of the number is for Karbine. Any information would be most welcome.
    Best W
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture WKC Bayonet - Information Please   WKC Bayonet - Information Please  

WKC Bayonet - Information Please  
    Attached Images Attached Images WKC Bayonet - Information Please  WKC Bayonet - Information Please 

Default Re: WKC Bayonet - Information Please

Alec

I think that is an export bayonet - probably made for South America - Chile ?, by WKC who along with other German manufacturers exported a lot of weapons to that part of the world in the late 1800s/ early 1900s.