Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Is anything about this SS Visor Cap original?...

Article about: Hi all. I know fake SS caps can be the bane of an SS collector's existence, but as always I like to get feedback about items I have little experience with, and SS caps are one such category

?

Default Is anything about this SS Visor Cap original?...

Hi all.

I know fake SS caps can be the bane of an SS collector's existence, but as always I like to get feedback about items I have little experience with, and SS caps are one such category where my expertise lacks. That said, there are some things about this cap (in general) that I like, others that I do not.

So... what do you think?

Thanks!
    Dzyner

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Is anything about this SS Visor Cap original?...
    P
    Many

Hello Dynzer. I'm certainly not an authority on these items. But I'm curious to learn as you are. So here is at least my concerns with the cap in question. The woolen fabric used in construction seems a bit loose in weave appearance, and has a fuzzy look about it. The cap visor seems thin/not vulcanfiber and is irregularly long. The tightening buckles on the black chinstrap look incorrect. The sweat shield looks plastic and the makers name with SS rzm tag seems overboard, I'm not certain there was such a thing as a "transitional cap"? The sweatband just doesn't look correct (new-ish heavily grained leather) compared to the appearance of the rest of the cap itself. And lastly the early SS insignia which I suspect are bad too, should not be on a cap that has a RZM tag and label, that combination is IMO mismatched in timeframe. None of these to me are good signs of any part of the cap being real. Of course FB is the authority and will correct me if I'm off base or just blatantly wrong. Best of luck and kindest regards.

Brian
    Last edited by bsiwula1; 07-11-2017 at 02:45 AM.