Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here

Possible Waffen-SS NCO Visor Cap

Article about: Hello, this is my first time posting here, though I've browsed quite a few threads in my quest to authenticate this piece. I purchased this cap on a whim at a no-reserve auction for \\$400 whe

Default Possible Waffen-SS NCO Visor Cap

Hello, this is my first time posting here, though I've browsed quite a few threads in my quest to authenticate this piece. I purchased this cap on a whim at a no-reserve auction for $400 when I saw that few people were showing interest. This was before I realized the rarity of Third Reich memorabilia, and consequently how often faked they are. Since then, I've purchased Gary Wilkins' book "The Collector's Guide to Cloth Third Reich Military Headgear" to avoid making stupid mistakes again. However, after meticulously examining it for hours, I believe there is a possibility it is actually original, and was looking for other opinions. I've attached as many images as I can, I apologize for the poor lighting. I also apologize for the wall of text you're about to read, but I want to give you as much information as I can. I don't believe it is a fake, but I am concerned that it is most likely a very high-quality reproduction that has been artificially aged.

For starters, it is a very small cap, designed for someone with a head circumference of about 18-20 inches. It certainly smells old. Not sweaty, per se, but it smells like my grandpa's old WWII uniforms.