Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

A few swiss, a few german, a few french

Article about: Hello everyone, Tag zusammen, Grüezi Miteinand, I just joined this forum today. I've been collecting helmets for 20 years now, and today, due to a random GIS i found a thread here which conv

That Dent in the WWI German helmet is enough to make for a Fine headache! I like the way you've got everything displayed-very impressive!
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement A few swiss, a few german, a few french
    P
    Many

?

Great looking collection. I'm really liking the Baden Haube
    I have a M96 Landwehr version
    Welcome to the forum!!

Semper Fi
    Phil

Hoi Neil,

it took me almost as long to acquire the glass heads as it did the helmet collection itself! No, they're not padded in any way, they're just glass. I dont know where you live, but if you're in the US i got them at Pier1 imports

Recycled Glass Head | Pier 1 Imports

Downside: its a hassle to move when you move houses. Also, they're rather "tall" and so you put htem up to high you cant see the helmet its displaying any longer. So that's a bit of a limitation they really only work at eye level or lower.

Additionally, some of the swiss tschakos and one of the pickelhauben are shrunk/too small for them, and dont fit. i tore a liner finger when i didnt realize it was too small and stretched it a bit too far. So they're not ideal for very small or very old things which may've shrank over the years.

I do really like them however, and it makes the collection somehow more dignified. They display any steel or kevlar helmet very well.

Additionally, its been said (i forget where i read this, kaisersbunker maybe?) that over time some leather helmets will slowly crush under their own weight if they're not supported. So some sort of stand is a must for the pickelhauben.