Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

POLL & OPINIONS: WWII Dagger, Swords & Knife Storage

Article about: Fellow Blade Lovers, I have been collecting WWII edged weapons for almost 30 years now. I am always interested, open & intrigued in finding out how my fellow collectors store their value

?

Default POLL & OPINIONS: WWII Dagger, Swords & Knife Storage

Fellow Blade Lovers,

I have been collecting WWII edged weapons for almost 30 years now. I am always interested, open & intrigued in finding out how my fellow collectors store their valued edged weapons. Please opine with pictures or dialog. I personally have my method but open to learning any new tricks.

- In or out of scabbards? Concerns on scabbard internal runners and moisture damage to blade?
    - Wrapped scabbard & Blade separately in soft cotton or microfiber cloth?
    - Is there cloth type you prefer? Any materials that concern you with acids or moisture retention?
    - In a padded nylon zipper case like some of the dealers sell and offer?
    - Cloth Bags for Edged weapons also available from some dealers?
    - Laying flat in open on soft Jewelers cloth?
    - Do you apply light oil coat on your blades? If so what oil?
    - Safe or vault storage in humidty controlled area?
    - Display cases or racking?

Thanks! Rossi
    "It's not whether you get knocked down...It's whether you get up"

My Collection: www.tothehiltmilitaria.com

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement POLL & OPINIONS:  WWII Dagger, Swords & Knife Storage
    P
    Many

MAP
    ?

Rossi,

I'm probably the worst to answer as I'm no expert on display and storage but I'm sure I will learn alot from this thread. Good idea!

1) majority of my bayonets are in scabbard, lying flat in a display cabinet
    2) most of my daggers are in the scabbard, on a few tiered wood displays that I built (like a set of stairs without the treads) to save what little space I have left!